I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

This book was brought to my attention by Pavel, a new member.  The US version by Harper was released in August, the first of a series of six books.  A movie by the same name will debut in February 2011.

This is a young adult science fiction book aimed primarily at teen boys.  Pittacus Lore is the narrator and pen name for authors James Frey and Jobie Hughes.

The story is about nine teen aliens that have been rescued and sent to earth (remember Superman’s origins?).  The population of the planet Lorien has been destroyed by the Mogadarians who now seek out the nine remaining Lorien.  The Mogadarians have found and killed three Loriens and are searching for the others.  The Loriens are being killed in a certain order which is where the title of the book comes in.  I assume each of the six books in the series will be about the life and possibly death of these six aliens.

Pavel told me he had both US and UK versions and that there is a limited 500 copy signed version as well.  Due to the large US first printing I would look for a UK (Michael Joseph) copy.  This is also the true first edition.

Some of the UK books have risen in price anticipating the movie.  There is one inexpensive copy on Abebooks at the time of this writing.

First books in a series are often worthwhile collecting.  What’s most interesting to me is that this is a Dreamworks movie.  Michael Bay and Steven Spielberg are working together as producers.  Miles Millar and Alfred Gough, writers with Smallville and Spider Man 2 experience, should also help make the film a success.

The rating for the US version of the book is 22 due to the high first printing.

6 Comments on Books To Consider – Dec 23, 2010

  1. Pavel Sergeyev says:


    I get the exact same message for the above link.

    • Bob says:

      I fixed that one also. It was not unlocked. Sorry. Thanks for catching that. I’ll double-check next time I post. Thanks again for the suggestions.

  2. Pavel Sergeyev says:


    The above link gives me

    “Sorry, you do not have access to this content.

    If you are a free member, then click here to purchase access.


    You’re seeing this message because this content is not yet available to you (or has already expired).”

    • Bob says:

      I found the problem. A post, Top Ten List, was protected from some of the members and myself included. I unprotected it. Many members have not seen it yet.

  3. Pavel Sergeyev says:

    I am number four sequel “The power of six” is due on 06/07/2011

    I might be able to point out another book which might be of interest. It is the “book one” in the series of three. The name is “Matched” and its written by Allyson Condie.

    The second book in the series is the “Crossed” which is supposed to come out November 1, 2011.


Leave a Reply